Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I find winter in Johannesburg very pleasant and a joy.  It is not extremely cold, and the sun is pleasant and comforting.  I would not mind very much if we had our fair share of snow, since I do love snow.

But in Johannesburg we make the most of the pleasant winters days.  Like spending a glorious sunny cozy morning, having a cup of coffee and enjoying the stunning view of the country clubs’ lawns.  I bit dry in patches, which is to be expected in mid winter.

Winter Mornings in Johannesburg

Winter Mornings in Johannesburg

I have been patiently knitting away at my grey sweater.  I have already reached the under the arm length, and have now cast on for the sleeves.  The progress is steady, and I am loving the way the cable insert is turning out.  I have no pattern for this, so I will need to look at the top construction as soon as the sleeves are long enough.

And I spoiled myself with a little bit of happy mail.  Stunning bright, cheerful yarns from Linda’s Treehouse, in Kingfisher.  I chose Bee Eater and Sunshine Grows.  I think these would be great summer wear items.  🙂  Or winter, as they are so cheerful.

New Stash Yarn

New Stash Yarn

My latest find in project  bags are these Box Project bags.  They are square and deep with a zipper.  If you open them all the way, you can fold the top back and they double as a portable fabric yarn bowl.  The cute sheepies print on these were just irresistible.  I got two sizes, one for sock size projects and one for shawl size projects.

