Recently I had the inspiration from one of my “blogging friends” to sit down and look at the crochet work I do, and the pieces of crochet work and doilies I still have that I received from my Mom, Grandmother and great Grandmother over the years.

It was a truly inspirational trip into history for me.  Looking at the crochet work all together in one place, one only realizes just how different each women’s style was, and just how very much it reflected on her personality through her work.

I remember my great Grandmother as a stunning English lady, that was very proper.  I will always remember how we children were only allowed to have our cooldrinks on the back porch, and not in the house.   I don’t have many pieces from her, but this pineapple doily is one that she made.  From the fine and delicate work, and the details, it reflects just how perfect she was.

My grandmother was an extremely vibrant, outgoing, colourful person.  She lived life to the fullest every moment.  She was always ready to make you smile.  There was nothing she could not do.  She raised my father during the second World War, and worked as a seamstress to put food on the table while my grandfather was away in Italy.  She taught me to crochet when I was very young.  She tried to teach me to sew, as she did it with perfection, but I never quite got the hang of it.

Her doilies shows how much fun she had with everything she did.  Colourful and different.  The doily with the pansies are still one of my favourites, that I tend to keep around for special occasions in summer, when you just feel like that burst of colour.

My Mom loved A LOT of everything.  She was not fond of crochet as much, and of all the pieces I still have, hers are the only pieces that are knitted.  I have a set of three doilies that she knitted.  She embroidered a lot.  Her embroidery shows her love for plenty of everything.  I think if she could add more designs into one doily she would.  And colours, lots and lots of them all.

My embroidery seems to be less, more delicate.  I crochet more, my borders seems so much wider.  And I think I went through a “pink phase” as I have a lot of pink items.  Now I seem to be following more in my Mom and Grans footsteps, and are loving many more colours, specially all shades of blue, and of course, autumn colours.

It was truly interesting to look back at the work done over centuries by the women in my family.

