I am fully ready for the glorious summer that is now here.  The days are warm, balmy and very pleasant.  It is really a stunning time in Johannesburg.  We have had our share of good rain and everything seems to be even greener than ever, if that is at all possible.

Image

My plants and herbs are growing in abundance, blooming so prettily.

Image

Image

And fresh cut flowers are available everywhere.  I could not resist a bunch of Proteas for the house, they represent summer in so many ways.

Image

But I am not yet sitting idly in the sun and just soaking up the heat.  I did some work in the meantime, and these pillows are for my daughter’s home, to put on the bench in their bedroom, and this lace crochet is for me.  I am so happy with the way it turned out.  The pattern is very old, and I dug it out of a book that I had for many years.  I loved it to crochet again.  My hands are itching to do another crochet project, and I am already digging into some old books for something similar to start with.

Image

Image

I have a few last WIP’s that is really close to being finished, and then I can start some summer vacation knitting.  In my next post I will give a little sneak peek on just how these WIP’s are progressing.  Nearly there, and then serious holiday planning.

