Image

Of all three of my pets, Babuschka was the last one I would have expected to go first.  She was already with us for 14 (human) years, however the older cat is already 20 human years old, and I expected her to go first.  Or else my doggie, who suffers from epileptic fits, and needs medication every day.  (A bit of a rescue case, but she is happy and well taken care of.)

During the last two months, my kitty developed the most aggressive cancer I have experienced.  It affected a hind leg first, first the muscle, then the bone.  It then manifested in a lump in her neck, and days later two spots appeared on her lungs.

Image

When her leg became affected, I visited my vet weekly, and she took painkillers during this time.  She lost weight so very fast.  Each day I sat with her in the mornings and afternoons, slowly feeding her to make sure she ate her food.  Mostly she just stayed on the bed and slept and took it easy.

But when the cancer spread to her neck and lungs, the vet suggested we consider having her put down.  This was the most difficult decision we ever had to make.  We knew it would be best for her, but the thought of saying goodbye was so sad.

Image

I know she is better off, but I still find myself walking halfway down the passage to go and check on her to see if she is okay or needs anything.  She was such a kind and gently cat, never demanding anything.

For now we all still miss her dearly, especially the dog, as they were best buds right from the start.

Image

I thank the staff and Vets at Park Vet Hospital for their assistance and care of our little darling, their extreme patience and kindness and understanding, and Envirocin for their taking care of her afterwards.  Soon we get to visit the memorial park and spend some time there.

