And of course, how can one go to such an amazing convention and not come home with goodies to spoil yourself and others with.

I got my daughter some beautiful handpainted batik fabric, in her favourite colours.  She will love to convert these into really pretty quilt squares or designs.

Image

Quilting Fabric for my daughter

I myself tried very hard not to overspend on the yarns, and buy one in every colour.  So I settled for a stunning lace in a variegated burgundy.  And a 100% wool in a very pretty deep green.  But I could not resist the pretty cream handspun, it is so very soft, is almost feels like alpaca.

Image

Yarns and goodies for myself

Plus I got two stunning UK magazines, at such a bargain price, I wish they had more.  These magazines are of course “imported” down here, so they do become pricey.  And how can you resist the little free gifts, a cute corsage set to knit. I have crocheted flowers before, but never knitted.  This will be a new.  Not to mention the cat tape measure, I can never have enough, I need one in just about every project bag. Image

As I already have another handcrafting project lurking in the wings, planning to make a mini-bunny with my sisters’ help, I decided to also try something totally different, and bought a small silk screen kit, with the screen already done in a very beautiful flower design.  I had a long talk with the designer, and she assured me it was easy enough.  So another handcrafting project lurking in the wings.

Image

Stunning Silkscreen I want to try.

This already made quilted square immediately caught my eye.  Giraffes are one of my favourite big African animals, and this square was so cute and pretty I could not leave it.  I am thinking it will make the cutest project bag, just needs backing and a lining and a drawstring, and all done.

Image

Future Project Bag.

It was wonderful to spend a day with such great suppliers and vendors, and be able to browse and chat and discuss new ideas.

