I belong to some international swap groups, and recently the moderator of one of the groups asked us to make something small that our swap buddy had made, but you have not, and that way, learn a new technique, use a yarn that you have not yet used, tried something you have not done.

And so looking at the projects on my buddies project page, I noticed that she knitted and crocheted.  Well then, so do I.  But I have been knitting far more lately, than crocheting.  And so the decision was made to rather crochet my swap gift, and not knit it.  I really needed to get back into crochet, as I was sadly neglecting it.

Looking at the very pretty crochet patterns again, I knew that this was going to be a fun experience.  I hauled out my old hooks, I have had them forever, (since I was in highschool) and loved how pretty and shiny they still looked after all the time.

When I went shopping for my yarns for the swap, I could not help but notice all the latest crochet hooks, so many new styles and colours and variety.  Obviously a lot had changed since the last time I was shopping for crochet hooks, so I decided to get the yarn for my buddy, and new crochet hooks for me.

Image

Image

It was a truly great inspiration, and I am glad to have started crocheting again, it is just as rewarding as my knitting.

Image

