I just love the winter!!  Especially the winter vacation.  This year I took time to take a break away from home, and enjoy the beautiful warm sunny days in Mpumalanga, in Sabie and surrounding areas.  The longer cool winter evenings and warm fires were perfect for relaxing and getting some knitting done.

I finished the Blue Scarf for my daughter, and the second cowl I promised myself for the winter.  I loved the way the colours flowed into each other, it is soft and warm, and the red just brightens up the winter days.

2013-07-21 15.43.51

Nautical Cowl

I received my Nurturing Fibres sock yarn, in the stunning Cape Town colourway.  This is for a swap partner, and I cast on the first sock.  It is knitting up so very fast, and I love the delicate stripes that is running through the sock.  Soon I would be able to finish both socks, and send a merry package on its way.

Image

“Cape Town” sock

Arroyo Shawl in Variegated Green

 And I could not resist starting my next shawl.  After knitting the first lace shawl, which was not as difficult as I had always imagined, I am now looking forward to making many more.  I have decided to knit the Arroyo shawl, and choose Hartlam yarn in Spring Meadow, a lovely variegated green.

Image

Arroyo Shawl in Variegated Green

But I still promised myself a second hat for the winter, and thus I took my Malabrigo Lace with me on vacation, which was the perfect time and setting to quietly sit and start this pretty and delicate hat.  Blue is of course one of my very favourites, and I look forward to finishing this pretty and soft hat to wear in the winter, I think it would be stunning with a pair of blue jeans.

Image

Blue Malabrigo Hat – Pattern in Knitscene

Thank goodness for winter breaks and vacation.  I am rested and ready for the next term.  And I still have some long winter nights to knit away.

Happy knitting all.

