My first KIP! (Knit in Public!) I was invited by a group on Ravelry to join them on their KIP, and was very eager and excited to go. This would be my very first group KIP, and it sounded like it could be loads of fun.

As I am working on a pair of socks at the moment, that was my project that I would be taking with me. I was more excited to see what the other ladies are working on, their patterns, their yarns, and all.

They opted for a really nice venue, the Irene Dairy Farm. My daughter joined me on the trip to the Dairy Farm, and we were up pretty early, as it was still at least an hour’s drive or so. But so worth it! It was really easy to find, and the roads were quiet on the early Saturday morning. It was such a beautiful day. Even the weather turned out pleasant, the cooler weather of the week had disappeared, making the day perfect and very comfortable.

At the Irene Dairy Farm, we sat outside The Barn, under the beautiful shades. I was totally loving the projects of the other ladies, they were all working on such interesting projects, and had stunning yarns. I was so inspired by all the gorgeous work I saw, that I simply had to start something new when I got home. So I casted on the Ishbel Shawl on Manos Lace – Fathoms. Which, by the way, knits like a dream and is so soft.

I absolutely loved the farm, the peaceful atmosphere, the country smells and sounds. It reminded me so much of the time I spent as a young girl on our family farm. We had a lovely breakfast, out in the open, with the chickens coming up to us, walking around, eagerly seeing what they could get from us. I loved the cows, both Friesland and Jersey, they were beautiful and healthy, with udders full on milk! The farm has a shop, and my daughter and I stopped in to get some goodies. I even bought a big container of fresh milk. Fresh raw milk, it was great. I drank nearly all of it by myself. We also bought some carrot cake, snacks and yummy jams. Now I have the perfect reason to spoil the family with flapjacks and scones, and enjoy these yummy jams.

I will definitely be visiting the farm again, and making another day trip, this time taking the whole family with me. I know they all will enjoy it.

Thank you ladies, for inviting me to your KIP, it was inspiring.

The knitting in progress.

The knitting in progress.

Gorgeous lawns and venue.

Gorgeous lawns and venue.

Gorgeous lawns and venue.

Gorgeous lawns and venue.

The Farm Stables.

The Farm Stables.

On the farm.

On the farm.

Irene Dairy and Farm Shop.

Irene Dairy and Farm Shop.

The Dairy Cows.

The Dairy Cows.

